19th - 21st September 2007            Perth, Western Australia


The DIMEA 2007: Second International Conference on Digital Interactive Media in Entertainment and Arts will be held on the 19th - 21st September 2007 in Perth, Western Australia. DIMEA 2007 is organised jointly by Murdoch University and ACM SIG CHI (Singapore Chapter).

Proceedings available in ACM Digital Library

Media Released: 


Highlights of the Conference



  • Media Design Aesthetics: Emotional and Entertaining Experience Design for the Ubiquitous Society, by Professor Masa Inakage, Keio University, Japan

  • Research Collaboration for “Humorous Interaction”2-Man Stand-Up Comedy (Manzai) with a Robot, by Junichi Osada (NEC Design, Ltd.) and Zenjiro (YOSHIMOTO KOGYO, Ltd.), Japan



Invited Session: Virtual Realities and New Entertainment

Chair: Professor Ryohei Nakatsu

School of Science and Technology, 

Kwansei Gakuin University 

Chair, IFIP TC 14 (Technical Committee on Entertainment Computing)




Presentation Highlight:

  • The BBC and its Web 2.0 Partners, by Ben Sutherland (BBC)

Ben Sutherland is a journalist for the BBC, working with both the World Service's Future Media department and the BBC's News website. He has been working across the BBC's internet content since 2001, beginning with 24-hour news channel Radio Five Live and continuing with the BBC Sport website, in particular its pioneering online coverage of the World Cup in Japan and South Korea. He is particularly interested in the BBC's role in the online world and how the Corporation can address some of the criticisms levelled at it. He also works with the BBC World Service's Digital Planet programme, investigating the latest trends in technology around the world.





Return to Top

Conference Committee


Honorary General Conference Chairs:

Arnold Depickere, Murdoch University, Australia


General Conference Chairs:

Kevin Wong, Murdoch University, Australia

Lance Fung, Murdoch University, Australia

Peter Cole, Murdoch University, Australia


Technical Program Chairs:

Adrian David Cheok, National University of Singapore

Ryohei Nakatsu, Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan

Naoko Tosa, Kyoto University, Japan


Demo and Art Chair:

Benjamin Salem, Eindhoven University of Technology


Organising Committee:

Elina M Koivisto, Nokia, Finland

Graham Mann, Murdoch University, Australia

Ong Sing Goh, National Technical University of Malaysia Melaka

Shri Rai, Murdoch University, Australia

Ingrid Richardson, Murdoch University, Australia

Myint Swe Khine, Murdoch University, Australia


International Technical Program Committee:  

Isabel Machado Alexandre, DCTI – Instituto Superior de Ciências do Trabalho e da Empresa, Portugal

Sansanee Auephanwiriyakul, Chiang Mai University, Thailand

Erik Champion, UNSW Asia, Singapore

Annmarie Chandler, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Peichi Chung, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Cecile Crutzen, Open University of the Netherlands

Dan Fu, Stottler Henke, USA

Konstantinos Giannakis, Society for Excellence and Innovation in Interactive Experience Design, Greece

Ian Horswill, Northwestern University, USA

Theo Hug, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Andrew Hutchison, Curtin University of Technology, Australia

Andrew Johnston, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

John N. Karigiannis, Society for Excellence and Innovation in Interactive Experience Design, Greece

Manolya Kavakli, Macquarie University, Australia

Fong-Lok Lee, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Jimmy Lee, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Linda Leung, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Craig Lindley, Blekinge Technical College/Gotland University College, Sweden

Florian ‘Floyd’ Mueller, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Alexander Nareyek, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Jeff Orkin, MIT Media Lab, USA

Yongyuth Permpoontanalarp, King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi, Thailand

Hock Soon Seah, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Cathie Sherwood, Central Queensland University, Australia

Sharon Griffith, University of Western Sydney, Australia

Mitsuhiro Takemura, Sapporo City University, Japan

Greg Wadley,The University of Melbourne, Australia

Christine Waechter, University of Klagenfurt, Austria

Mary-Anne Williams, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia



Return to Top




Register your interest with k.wong@murdoch.edu.au